Friday, 1 August 2014

Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games often called the friendly games has a unique place in sporting history. The Commonwealth is an international multi sport event like the Olympics except athletes are from Commonwealth countries.  It includes some countries like Pacific Islands, New Zealand and England.

The first games were held in 1930 Hamilton, Canada.  Eleven countries sent four hundred Athletes to participate  in the Commonwealth games they played in six sports and fifty nine events.  Since then the games have been held every four years.  However in 1942 and 1946 the Commonwealth games were cancelled because of the second world war.


The event has had many changes, even its name.  From 1930 to 1950 the games were known as the British Empire games. Later, from 1970 until 1974 they took the title of the British Commonwealth Games. Finally, at the 1978 games Edmonton Canada, this multi sport event changed it’s name to the Commonwealth Games.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.